Scribes of Hope II

CIVA Traveling Exhibits - Scribes of Hope II - Tim Botts
Timothy Botts, Requiem (detail)

All three Abrahamic faiths emphasize the importance of the written word. Following the work of its original authors, generations of scribes faithfully transcribed these words on parchment and paper and honored the text by illuminating it. For today’s calligraphers there exists a tension between traditional commitments to create work that is legible and a more contemporary view that emphasizes expressing the spirit of the text. Scribes of Hope II embraces this tension. This exhibit features 31 works across a wide range of approaches including: traditional lettering and illumination; artist books and letterpress work showcasing fresh directions in calligraphic design; and letters created by hand and then digitally scanned for further alteration.

CIVA is grateful to internationally known calligrapher Timothy Botts for curating this exhibit and also grateful to Mr. and Mrs. Howard and Corrinne Russell for their generous gift in support of this exhibit.

The four-week rental fee for this exhibit is $450 plus additional costs for shipping. CIVA member organizations and institutions will receive a $50 discount. To learn more about how to rent this show, please contact CIVA Exhibitions Coordinator, Kate Austin at kaustin@civa.org. To check for available dates, consult the schedule below. For a complete list of CIVA shows visit our Traveling Exhibits page.

This exhibit is now available for rental.

Travel Schedule for Scribes of Hope II

February 27, 2017 onward
Available

January 13 – February 17, 2017
First Presbyterian Church
9751 Bonita Beach Road
Bonita Springs, FL 34135
239.992.3233
Contact: Jeffrey Faux
jfaux@fpcbonita.org

November 9, 2016 – January 4, 2017
STORY: The Gallery at Grace Point
1201 NE McCollum Drive
Bentonville, AR 72712
479.586.6268
Contact: Tim Logan, Gallery Director
tim@gracepointchurch.net

September 26 – October 28, 2016
Trinity International University – Avodah Summit
2065 Half Day Road
Deerfield, IL 60015
Contact: Adam Joyce
acjoyce@tiu.edu
703.625.5172

July 1 – September 6, 2016
St. Mary’s Episcopal Church
26 St. Mary’s Road
Shelter Island, NY 11964
Contact: Fr. Charlie McCarron
631.749.0770
frmccarron@aolcom.

May 16 – June 16, 2016
The Creative Church Conference
The Vineyard Church of Indianapolis
8383 Craig Street, Suite 185
Indianapolis, IN 46250
Contact: Scott McElroy

January 15 – February 15, 2016April 11 – May 2, 2016
Glencoe Union Church
263 Park Avenue
Glencoe, IL 60022
Contact: Jennifer Wood, Director of Children’s Ministries & Communications
847.835.1111
jennifer@glencoeunionchurch.org

February 25 – March 24, 2016
Long Island Lutheran School
131 Brookville Road
Brookville, NY 11545
Contact: Fran Ormand, Art Educator
516.626.1700
fran.ormand@luhi.org

Church at Charlotte
2500 Carmel Road
Charlotte, NC 28226
Contact: Carrie Givens
704.364.5913
cgivens@churchatcharlotte.org

November 10, 2015 – January 5, 2016
Aldersgate UMC
1741 Sayles Boulevard
Abilene, TX 79605
Contact: Jessica Watson, Director of Connections
210.849.9122
jessica@aldersgateabilene.org

October 1 – 29, 2015
First Baptist Church
1000 West Friendly Avenue
Greensboro, NC 27401-1808
Contact: Rev. Doug Vancil
phimo@triad.rr.com
336.274.3286 office
336.681.5307 mobile

April 15 – June 15, 2015
Westminster Presbyterian Church
1301 Kimball Ave
Waterloo, IA 50702
Contact: Jodi Dieken
jodi@wpcw.org
319.234.5501

February 12 – April 9, 2015
First Presbyterian Church of Flint
746 South Saginaw Street
Flint, MI 48503
Contact: Ed Bradley
bradleyedwin@sbcglobal.net
810.234.8673

January 8 – February 5, 2015
Christ Church Hamilton
149 Asbury Street
South Hamilton, MA 01982
978.239.5464
Contact: Rachael Stahl Galbraith
rachael.stahl@gmail.com

November 1 – November 30, 2014
California Baptist University
8432 Magnolia Avenue
Riverside, CA 92504
877.228.3615
Contact: Duncan Simcoe
dsimcoe@calbaptist.edu

August 6 – October 24, 2014
First Congregational Church of Hamilton
624 Bay Road

PO Box 213
Hamilton, MA 01936
Contact: Carmela Martin
carmelamartin@comcast.net

May 28 – August 1, 2014
Park Street Church
One Park Street
Boston, MA 02108
617.523.3383
Contact: Chris Sherwood
csherwood@parkstreet.org


April 20 – May 20, 2014
Chase Oaks Church
281 Legacy Drive
Plano, TX 75023
972.783.8800
Contact: Greg Holmes
gholmes@chaseoaks.org.

March 1 – April 7, 2014
Grove City College
100 Campus Drive
Grove City, PA 16127-1503
Contact: Kathy Rhoades
kjrhoades@gcc.edu

January 12 – February 12, 2014
First Baptist Church
162 Main Street
Chester, VT 05143
803.875.2638
Contact: Thomas Charlton
tom@chesterbaptist.org

November 10 – December 26, 2013
James Gallery
Wilshire Baptist Church
4316 Abrams Road
Dallas, TX 75214
214.452.3128
Contact: Rev. Mark Wingfield
mwingfield@wilshirebc.org

October 3 – November 1, 2013
John Brown University Art Gallery
2000 West University Street
Siloam Springs, AR 72761
Contact: Charles Peer
cpeer@jbu.edu

August 20 – September 25, 2013
Harding University
Department of Art & Design Gallery
915 East Market Avenue
Searcy, AR 72149
501.279.4426
Contact: John Keller
jkeller@harding.edu

May 15 – July 15, 2013 
First Presbyterian Church of Topeka
817 Southwest Harrison Street
Topeka, KS 66612
785.233.9601
Contact: Rev. Cheryl Galan
cheryldgalan@gmail.com

February 20 – April 30, 2013
Colonial Presbyterian Church
12501 West 137th Street
Overland Park, Kansas 66221
913.322.1108
Contact: Randy Shaneyfelt
816.501.3001
rshaneyfelt@colonialkc.org
Contact: Howard Russell
312.351.2008
jayhawk65@everestkc.net

November 1, 2012 – February 11, 2013
Central Presbyterian Church
201 Washington Street SW
Atlanta, GA 30303
404.601.3138
Contact: David Vander Meer
dvandermeer@cpcatlanta.org
www.cpcatlanta.org

Share this with your friends and followers.