Seeing the Savior: Images from the Life of Christ

From the Annunciation to his Second Coming, 35 insightful and colorful interpretations of the Birth, Ministry, Passion, Ascension, and Return of our Lord are masterfully portrayed by thirteen artists from a variety of artistic and ethnic backgrounds. This show was curated by Sandra Bowden. It features the work of Laura James, New York artist of Antiguan heritage; Viera Hlonikova, from Slovakia; Rudolph Bostic, an African American Outsider Artist from Georgia; Sadao Watanabe from Japan; along with several well-known CIVA artists. The CD that accompanies this exhibit includes an essay by art historian Tricia Pongracz, a study guide, and suggestions for art projects that can be created in response to the images in the exhibit. This exhibit traveled through June of 2013, and is now out of circulation.

To find out more about scheduling this CIVA Traveling Exhibit for your church, gallery, museum, or school, contact Margot Rogers at exhibits@civa.org. For a complete list of CIVA shows visit our Traveling Exhibits page.

 

Travel Schedule for Seeing the Savior

FINAL SHOWING
May 15 – June 30, 2013

First Baptist Church
1000 West Friendly Avenue
Greensboro, NC 27401
Contact: Monica Hix
monica@fbcgso.orgs
336.274.3286 Ext. 231

March 1 – April 30, 2013
Bidwell Presbyterian Church
208 West First Street
Chico, CA 95928
Contact: Rev. Greg Cootsona
gcootsona@bidwellpres.org
530.343.1484

January 10 – February 20, 2013
Apostles Anglican Church
200 Colony Boulevard
Lexington, KY 40502
www.apostlesanglican.com
Contact: Bridget Sweeney
859.245.1318
sweeneymb@msn.com

November 1 – December 31, 2012
Maple Valley Presbyterian Church
22659 Sweeney Road SE
Maple Valley, WA 98038
Contact: Brian Moss
vibemore@gmail.com

September 10 – October 15, 2012
OSilas Gallery
Concordia College-New York
171 White Plains Road
Bronxville, NY 10708
Contact: Shanley Hanlon
914.337.9300 Ext. 2157
shanley.hanlon@concordia-ny.edu

June 25 – August 31, 2012
Marian Library | International Marian Research Institute
300 College Park
Dayton, OH 45469-1390
Contact: Sister M. Jean Frisk
937.229.4254
friskjem@notes.udayton.edu

April 1 – May 30, 2012
Sinsinawa Gallery
585 County Road Z
Sinsinawa, WI 53824
Contact: Michelle Till
608.748.4411
MTILL@sinsinawa.org

January 15 – March 20, 2012
Colonial Presbyterian Church
9500 Wornall Road
Kansas City, MO 64114
Contact: Randy Shaneyfelt
816.501.3001
rshaneyfelt@colonialkc.org
Contact: Howard Russell
312.351.2008
jayhawk65@everestkc.net

November 17, 2011 – January 5, 2012
Bryan College
Box 7657
721 Mercer Drive
Dayton, TN  37321
Contact: Elaine Davis
423.775.7559
edavis9993@bryan.edu

October 2 – November 10, 2011
First Presbyterian Church
817 SW Harrison St.
Topeka, KS 66612
Contact: Brian Williams
785-233-9601

August 15 – September 25, 2011
Chesterfield Presbyterian Church
15037 Clayton Road
Chesterfield, MO 63017
Contact: Ryan McMillen
636.779.0312
ryanm@chespres.org

May 20 – August 1, 2011
Calvary of Albuquerque
4001 Osuna Road NE
Albuquerque, NM 87109
Contact: Brian Nixon
505.344.9146
brian.Nixon@calvaryabq.org

April 8 – May 8, 2011
Arts in the Cathedral
Church of the Savior United Methodist Church
3030 Washington Boulevard
Cleveland Heights, OH 44118
Contact: Joan Angle
zinkangle@sbcglobal.net

March 1 – March 30, 2011
First Baptist Church of Scottsdale
7025 East Osborn Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Contact: Barbara Glenn
480.945.6346
aglenn9475@aol.com

Share this with your friends and followers.