CIVA Gathers is a Christ-centered virtual gathering in which CIVA Members have the opportunity to connect and pray together. The doors are open to all traditions and backgrounds. Each month we will spend time with scripture and an artwork from CIVA’s newest traveling exhibition. The photography exhibition Again + Again is centered around the church calendar. CIVA Gathers is led by CIVA Staff and rotating featured CIVA artists, theologians, and cultural leaders.

We recognize our members come from a variety of prayer traditions and practices. As Christians, we believe Christ unites us, and this is an opportunity to embrace the diversity within these different traditions and learn from each other. Therefore, we are committed to creating an environment where all participants are comfortable regardless of their background or prayer practices.


Event Information

All events take place virtually via RingCentral at 8:30 pm ET | 7:30 pm CT | 5:30 pm PT on the last Thursday of each month. CIVA Gatherings are free to attend for CIVA members.

Upcoming Gatherings

DateAgain + Again Artwork/ArtistGuest Moderator Scripture ReadingPoem
May 27, 2021
One (Pentecost), Barry Sherbeck
Seth Little TBDNew Earth, Hawona Sullivan Janzen

All gatherings share the same RingCentral meeting link. By registering you are welcome to attend one gathering or as many gatherings that fit in your schedule.


Past Gatherings

Again + Again ArtworkGuest Pastoral Voice Scripture Reading Poetry

Sista Pray, Ralph Basui Watkins
Steven Homestead Psalm 138
Matthew 7:7-12
Lost Inside Henry VIII’s Chapel, Richard Olser

Fellowship, Sarah Bernhardt
Fr. Andrew ShowersJohn 1:1-18
Reflecting on “Lumen Fidei” (Light of Faith)
To Make Visible, Leslie Bustard

Stone of Help, Keith Barker
Michelle WinterGenesis 28:10-18Resurrection Psalm, Kristina Erny

The Enemy Never Came, Robert Denst
Greg HolmesJohn 4:16-26The Enemy Never Came, Lynda Rush Myers